How to be a computer…

DSC_0180.JPG

I’ve found my new favorite book. Hidden Figures is the story of a group of black women who worked as computers for NASA. They worked as computers! Like human computers. They did the math computations for some of NASAs earliest space missions. They did it all by hand during a time when gender equality and civil rights were more punch-lines than reality.  I’m so happy this book was published in time for my own STEM journey. Despite all the setbacks, failures and second-guessing that I face, its nothing compared to the odds stacked against these women. There were so many lines and paragraphs I wanted to highlight in the book. I couldn’t, its a library copy and I’m a good patron. I hope Santa brings me my very own copy for Christmas. Every time my code doesn’t work, every time I spend hours working on a lab only for it to not work — I’ll be thinking of these pioneering women who blazed such an amazing trail. This book has given me a renewed sense of determination and I cannot wait to see this movie on the big screen.

Leave a comment