How take constructive criticism…

I have pretty thick skin. I usually take criticism well, because it gives me some directions and steers me away from what I shouldn’t be doing. The other day I got an email from one of my mentors and it knocked me back a bit. It wasn’t mean spirited in any way, but a wake up call for sure.

you’re a bright lady and my only wish is that you step out of the shell.
I mean be pro active, be a leader. You have the ingredients why NOT?

 

I always appreciate honesty. Especially when it serves to better my character. I will say though, when I first read it, it was kind of a hurt piece. I knew it was coming from a good place, so I took the time to really digest the comment and see what changes I need to make.

I feel like 95% of the time I have no idea what I’m doing. I just sort of push through things and if they work, “yas!” if they don’t, I try something else. The same goes for this world of tech as well. I’m still learning and I’m not at all confident in my skill. A lot of times I feel like I have no ideas to contribute or even any thoughts to add to the conversation. The email from my mentor proves that someone thinks I have something worthwhile to contribute. Being a leader terrifies me for some reason. I’m learning to push through fear in other ways, so way not in this way too. Here’s to a productive, assertive, confident 2017!

Leave a Reply

